Burnt Bridges

Hello and Welcome to The Closet of Prayer!!

I’m your host Dorothy, and there is a word and topic for prayer. But first as always let’s get started with scripture, prayer, and song.

Scripture for Meditation:

“So he departed thence, and found Elisha the son of Shaphat, who was plowing with twelve yoke of oxen before him, and he with the twelfth: and Elijah passed by him, and cast his mantle upon him. And he left the oxen, and ran after Elijah, and said, Let me, I pray thee, kiss my father and my mother, and then I will follow thee. And he said unto him, Go back again: for what have I done to thee? And he returned back from him, and took a yoke of oxen, and slew them, and boiled their flesh with the instruments of the oxen, and gave unto the people, and they did eat. Then he arose, and went after Elijah, and ministered unto him.” ~I King 19:19-21

Opening Prayer:

Father we praise you and we worship you. You are a great God, a Mighty God, and God alone. Please forgive us of all our sins.. those thought, said, or done. Knowingly and unknowingly. Father as I sit here before you, your humble servant, I ask that you anoint me afresh to carry out your will. Decrease me so that they see/hear less of me and more of You… Give me the words to say and let me be wise enough to know when to say them and how to say them. Open up the ears of Your listeners so that we may hear the word.. Open up our hearts so that we may receive the word and Open up our minds so that we may do the word. This and all things we pray in the precious name of Jesus! Amen!

Song: Our Friday Song is “I Can’t Go Back” by William McDowell. But I thought I would do a little twist from the norm and present this song unto God through a mime. Enjoy!

Please know that these testimonies are first written as given by the leading of the Holy Spirit, then video recorded at a later date. We know that the word God gives us is not always useful at the time they are given, but are always on God’s given and perfect timing.

My Testimony: Today’s topic is Burned Bridges

My testimony as always comes from which God has revealed to me on this faith walk. He is ever imparting His word in me, and even though I may know many scriptures they do not come to life until God is ready to reveal His mysteries to me. Sometimes those revelations are just mere reminders of what we may already know but have somewhat forgotten.

I have been taken the time to read and enjoy my son’s bible in comic format, and was reading the story of Elijah and Elisha (my son Jeremiah’s middle name). As I was taken my time to look at the pictures and the comic text, a frame of Elisha having a feast with his family before he departed stood out. So I started to read the text bubbles leading up to the frame and was drawn in to the writers interpretation of Elijah’s mantle being placed upon Elisha. But, as I’m reading along I could not help but wonder for the first time, “hmmm…yes, why would Elisha slew the yoke of oxen for a farewell feast and not leave it to help his family in his absence??” I never really thought about it until now.

So, my thoughts where okay, God why would you choose now to reveal this to me. I grabbed a couple Bible’s in different versions from my shelf, table, and droid. But before I grabbed them my thoughts raced to the many occasions where I was pulled away from something or someone. I had to praise God right then and there. HE IS SOOOO AWESOME!!

I can not tell you how many times I have thought back on my broken relationships. I’m not just talking about boyfriends, good friends, and family, but also work/career relationships, and church. In this text Elisha sacrifices his yoke of oxen as a burnt offering so that he will continue to follow God and is not drawn to come back when things get tough. I’m reminded of my career I had with the Maryland State Department of Education. How conflict and trouble awaited for me every corner I turned, how I felt God pushing me out of the field, but yet I figured it to be my security. How even after I left for a 30 day break away from it all, I felt I had to return in order to support my son and myself.

Of course, God was not happy with this and He allowed me to make decisions so far removed from my character, that being at the job was pure hell. Good relationships became strained and bad relationships became outwardly present. God made sure that my bridges were good and crispy burnt that even after I resigned and the people I had these bad relationships with left, I would still be unable to return. Wow! It puts me in awe of Christ. How awesome is He!? The word does not lie when it says that He knows us better than we know ourselves. When you run from Him for so long but yet He still has a purpose for you, it will come to pass. God has a way of humbling us stiff-necked people to the point of our very lives being in His hands. Which, by the way, is the correct order.

Then I’m reminded of another very devastating event in my adult life. Which are the events that lead up to my separation. My husband blaming me and making me the reason why He feels he made the mistake of marrying me, his mother betraying me, me blaming myself for not being a better woman and wife, the shame of a failed/failing marriage, the guilt of trusting someone around my son, the course of events on that night that left everyone exposed. Not to mention the damaging effects of it all.

I am filled with so much joy right now with re-realizing that God was setting up a higher standard for me all along. To get it from a different perspective and be reminded of what He has in store for me. Also understanding that I had to go through those very painful and hurtful situations to make me that much stronger for His greatest plan for me. To understand that those bridges that once taught me the skills I now have were ultimately needed to help build His kingdom, and that I could not have those things to fall back on. I can not have that job, that career, those relationships because as long as I knew that I did I would never do His will. How Awesome is our God!!?

I thank God for His chastening! Oh how I love when my Father chastens me because when He gives me the revelation to His chastening, it means I have yet grown another level with Him. That my relationship with Him is getting closer…. I want to be my Father’s BESTFRIEND!! I want my Father to tell me on that glorious day that I am before Him.. WELL DONE MY CHILD!! I want… no need Him to smile down on me. Oh! How I love the Lord!!

So, my prayer today is for us to not be so upset about the bridges we think we are burning, because we never know if that very bridge is keeping us from turning away from God. We never know if that very bridge is protecting us from ourselves. If trying to restore that burnt bridge would mean eternal salvation or damnation. I pray that we take the time to reflect on our out of character events and discern the spirit from which they came. That we understand that ALL things work out for the good of those that love God. He is our keeper, our redeemer, and He will never leave us ignorant.

I welcome prayer request. Just simply type your name in the comments section and I will lift your name in prayer. You are welcome to leave a more specific prayer in the comments section; however, if you wish for your prayer request to be more private, please visit the Prayer Request page on this blog.

I thank you all for following my testimony. God is awesome!!

God Bless!

One thought on “Burnt Bridges

Leave a Reply

