Always the Helper, Never the Helpee

Hello and Welcome to The Closet of Prayer!!

There is a testimony and topic for prayer. But first, lets get strarted with scripture, prayer, and song.

Scripture for meditation:

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not evil, to give you an expected end.”  ~Jeremiah 29:11

Opening Prayer:

Father we praise you and we worship you.  You are a great God a Mighty God, and God alone.  Please forgive us of all our sins.. those thought, said, or done.  knowingly and unknowingly.  Father as I sit here before you, your humble servant, I ask that you annoint me afresh to carry out your will.  Decrease me, so that they see/hear less of me and more of you…  Give me the words to say and let me be wise enough to know when to say them and how to say them.  Open up the ears of your listeners so that we may hear the word..  Open up our hearts so that we may recieve the word and Open up our minds so that we may do the word.  This and all things we pray in the precious name of Jesus!  Amen!

Song: Our Thursday Song, “ I Belong To God“, 1st Louisiana Jurisdictional Mass Choir

Welcome back! Please know that these testimonies are first written as given by the leading of the Holy Spirit, then posted/video recorded at a later date.  We know that the word/testimony that God gives us is not always useful at the time they are given, but are always on God’s given and perfect timing.

My Testimony:

Today’s topic is Always the Helper, Never the Helpee

My testimony today comes from my revelation this morning.  Yesterday at bible study, Pastor taught us on Triumphing in Relationships with a concentration on the subtopic, Pride.  In the study worksheet, it included questionares about how we would rate ourselves in certain pride barring scenarios and aspects.  For instance, If a person came into the church smelly, dirty, inappropriately dressed and etc… would you hug them, talk to them, ignore them, or etc… or would you put on the Armor of Humility and welcome that person into the service??  In many of the situations I was able to answer 100% yes, I would help/welcome them in. Well I left Bible Study feeling happy, because that was my favorite subject matter.  That is my gift, God has fashioned me to be a help.  I loooovvveee to help, especially when that help means making someone feel great.  Its a wonderful feeling when you know God has strategically placed you somewhere to be a help to someone.  He is just awesome that way, Buuuuttt

What about being on the receiving end of the help???  This is what the Holy Ghost has given me revelation to this morning.  That I am always willing to be the helper and never the Helpee.  That I don’t allow others to know that I need help, that I have pride in this area.  Don’t get it twisted though… I do as the scripture says  and look to the hills from which commeth my help, my help commeth from the Lord…. However, I don’t listen out for God to tell me who to go to or who to ask for help for myself, only and always to help others.  This may also be because I am an intercessor.  But my immediate thought is always, oh thank you Jesus this will help such and such…. I have to pause and say thank you Holy Ghost because I hear Him saying this is because you don’t know your own self-worth.  Wow!  To be chastened in the middle of one testimony to be given another.  I LOOOVVVEEE ME SOME JESUS!! What a mighty God we serve!  Wow! I’m so amazed at His wonderous workings in my life.  He is always on time.  Thank you Lord!!  Now that I hear from the Master, I must DO the research in the Word.  I may share this as a topic for tuesday. Thank you Jesus!

Back to our topic, after Never seeking to find out from God if its for me. Like my mother, I dont have a selfish bone in my body when it comes to helping others. But, I have a hard time receiving help. I’m sure now that its not just because of pride, but like the Holy Spirit has told me, my lack in knowing my worth and unbelief in knowing I’m worthy. I guess I’m like others I classify as too humble for your own good…or plan terms not knowing a good thing when its looking you back in the mirror.

So, my prayer today is for us that are always the help and never the helpee. For us to put away our pride, and for us to know that we are worthy of recieving that help. To not be disobedient and let God exhalt us as He sees fit. To know that there is a time to play the background and there is a time when God wants us to come forward. To come boldly to the throne of Grace and proclaim whose we are, and who we are in Christ.  Amen!

I welcome prayer request.  Just simply type your name in the comments section and I will lift your name in prayer.  You are welcome to leave a more specific prayer in the comments section; however, if you wish for your prayer request to be more private, please visit the Prayer Request page on this blog.

Thanks for following and sharing in my testimony.

God Bless!

One thought on “Always the Helper, Never the Helpee

  1. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

